Port Charlotte's Web

Wednesday, June 28, 2006

Superman squishes the Spider

Yesterday was quite the battle.
It started when I finished my morning shower. I was drying off when I noticed in the corner of my eye what appeared to be a shadow of sorts. Now I have to tell you my shower has a dark brown and blue tile design to it, so it's a bit scary to begin with. Well when I turned around to see what the shadow was it turned out to be A HUGE FREAKING WOLF SPIDER!!!!
I am not kidding you when I say this freak of nature; this mutant spider was the size of my whole hand.
Well I had 2 choices to make at this point, do I take the allotted amount of time to try and kill this thing or do I wait and take care of it when I get home. (I was getting ready for work hence the Morning Shower).
Seeing as I really didn't want to do battle that early, I decided to wait.
At lunch time, I called my mom and told her not to take a shower just yet. That was fine with her since she doesn't like taking showers too often anyway. They literally take her breath away. So I told her and she went in there to see if it was still around; and it was.
When I got home I was ready for the battle of my lifetime. I put on my war-drobe and faced off against my adversary!
I started off with some roach and ant killer spray but that just seemed to piss him off. He was jumping around dancing with me and my fears. Then I shut the door of the shower and tried to peek over the crack at the top to see if this thing was dead.
Of course I couldn't see shit!
The way I opened that shower door came straight out of a horror movie as I slowly creaked it open to see nothing. Was it gone? Did the bug spray melt it?
THEN OUT OF THE BLUE HE CAME JUMPING OUT AT ME with a ferocity of a wolf. (hence the name Wolf Spider)
He was out for blood people and I was his next victim!
Well that's where my trusty Broom came to save the day. I whacked at that thing like I was one of the Sopranos and I didn't stop till I thought he was down for good. And just when I thought he was down, the dam thing jumped back to life.
I think this sucker should be called a Wolverine Spider instead of Wolf Spider cause he just healed himself with that trusty Mutant Healing Ability of his!
I thought maybe if I had a container that I could put him in it and toss the thing in the garbage. But that wasn't going to be the case, as my mom couldn't find anything except a to-go container from the restaurant we went a few days back.
After her whacking it a few more times and me whacking it a few extra more time she came up with the most logical way to get rid of this beast.
It was so simple that it took all that time to figure out...
Flush him down the toilet!
So with a very skilled hand, I attached him to the broom and shock him in the john promptly flushing him to his watery grave.
I just pray he doesn't find some gap in the septic tank to heal himself and then crawl back up to bite me on the ass.
Then and only then will I finally crush the bitch with my hand till his gooey guts are gone for good!

Tuesday, June 27, 2006

Final Product, the House is finished








Well what do you think? I like it much better with the trim. The jerks from this company refused to paint the side of the house cause they say it wasn't in the contract. I really don't understand what they are talking about. If I want the side part painted they should just paint the dam thing. Anyway they didn't finish the back either so I'll just finish it myself. But for the most part this is it. Hope you like it.

Sunday, June 25, 2006

pics of the new fans...









the fans are up and running cooling off a very hot linai. The rains have helped cool things off too so that's another good thing about that.
I was so happy about the fans that I started putting together the linai. I have a few lamps out, a game system with roulette, black jack and craps and I set up my Christmas Village! It's been a few years since I put it up so I felt like it needed to breathe alittle. Anyway thanks for dropping by. I'll be back soon enough.

Wednesday, June 21, 2006

The House is Painted! but hopefully not for long















The first thing that popped into my head was "ARGGG!!!"
I knew yesterday when mom and I sat down outside and went through all the colors that something bad was gonna happen. Well guess what it did!
I hope and pray that mom didn't sign some form saying we're stuck with this mess. Cause I'll just have to totally freak out on these people until they change this mess. The silver door against the yellow wall looks cool though, so I guess all isn't loss.
Don't believe me? Well they say a picture is worth a thousand words... so enough of me ranting and raving. Look for yourself... and remember this will change if it's the last thing I do. Let me say also that I like the yellow shed. Plus what do you guys think about the trim. I'm gonna have the guy come over tomorrow and I want him to trim around the house.

Monday, June 19, 2006

The progress of the Linai...BOO!










Extreme Make-over Italian Style



Mom and I have been very busy bees!
First we, but really her, decided to get wood floors in place of the nasty ass carpet that was here. Now when I say wood I really mean laminate, and when I say nasty ass carpet I mean carpet that had blood and dirt and God knows what else soaked into it. Of all the things that my mom has decided to do, the carpet was the most sensible.
Next she decided to get our linai closed off and put up sliding glass windows. But when I say glass what I really mean is acrylic. They were supposed to seal it off so we could put some type of air conditioner out there but its just pop out sliding acrylic windows. I have to admit though it looks a hell of a lot better. And lately I've been busy cleaning the place up and reorganizing to convert the linai into a family fun room. I'll have pics to show you the progress.
The latest thing being done is we're getting the house sealed and painted. Seems there are cracks along the side of the house and someone tried to repair them but it just looks like some really bad patch job. What we're doing is some process that some astronaut came up with whereas you seal the cracks up with this plastic stuff then you seal it with this rubber coated stuff then they paint the house. When we first started the choice of colors were about 20 at the most. Well take a look at the color chart we got afterwards. What is that like 3 thousand colors! How the hell are we supposed to choose a color scheme and pick it over night! We chose the yellow and dark purple looking patch, although the purple looks more like terra cotta.
With all this extreme makeover stuff going on is it any wonder that me and mom are rapidly going broke. Well maybe but at least we'll have a funky looking house over our heads. ;)

"Unconditional Surrender" is gone for now :(


Seward Johnson crafted an amazing statue of a famous picture taken by Alfred Eisenstaed. This picture deplicts a sailor kissing a nurse in New York's Times Square on V-J Day when President Truman announced Japan's surrender. Seward's statue is, or rather was, HUGE! The pics I took of it you can see cars driving by. Amazing and yes what you see is actual size.
When Leela and Dean and NB came down to visit, we drove by this statue and everyone said the same thing..."Wow look at that statue, it's Huge!" Then we all did the same thing...Get out the Camera! But alas it was too late.
But not to worry cause I work right down the street from where the statue stood so , believe it or not, on the very last day it stood I went and grabbed a few pics.
Now I read that there was a huge debate as to whether or not to fund the price of the statue. The city wanted to cast the statue in metal and place it in their bay front park area but the cost was around $600,000.00 to $1,000,000.00. Now I'm almost sure that it was purchased and will be cast but I'll have to wait to see on that.
For now enjoy the pictures taken and some day when they erect the statue again I'll have pictures of that.

Sunday, June 18, 2006

Father's day at Carrabba's

Today was a very wet day indeed.
We have been praying for rain for so long and finally when me and my mom decide to go out for a bite...BOOM it rains cats and dogs. Oh kitty kitty sorry.
We had to leave the cat home and I'm sure he freaked out with all that thunder and lightning.
Anyway we went to Carrabba's and had quite the meal. It started with mussels and 2 glasses of merlot for me and 2 glasses of michelob ultra for mom then it went to minestrone soup and an Italian salad (reg salad with olives and Italian dressing) then I had the canneloni with chicken and spinach and mom had the linguini with mussels, scallons and shrimp. We ended the meal with what's called the Chocolate Dream and wow was I ever in a stay of disbelief. That was so dam good with a layer of chocolate moose and a brownie with whipped cream and chocolate sauce. Very dreamy indeed.
I can't believe how woozie I feel right now. I have to stop eating so much.
Anyway my ex called today looking for an old phone number of a mutual friend and it was nice to hear from him.
His names George and I'll get around to that story in the future.
But he did say that he went to the Gay Pride festival with my friend NB who just visited me 2 weeks ago. Sounded like they had a nice time. It's weird cause I always go with him and it seems sad that I wasn't there. At least they got lost and called for directions so I felt at least they needed me. Yay!!!
Well that's it for now. See you guys later.
HAPPY FATHER'S DAY ALL!!!

Monday, June 12, 2006

more pics of Bella's 6th