Port Charlotte's Web

Monday, August 21, 2006

random thoughts and other things

Old World in North Port is a terrific restaurant. My Mom and I have already gone back and we will go back again in time. They have the best deserts around and their onion soup made me a believer. See my friend from Miami N.B. would either order chili or onion soup as an appetizer and I would always order the chili but would never order the onion soup. That was until I said the heck with it and said to give me the onion soup. Well damn baby if I knew that stuff was that good I would have ordered it long ago.
ALWAYS TRY NEW THINGS, IT KEEPS YOU ALIVE!
OK the next place we went to was this place called Benedetto's which is a part of the hotel that my friend stayed at when he came for a visit.
If I knew how awesome this place was we would have eaten there for sure instead of Fishermen's Wharf.
They had all these cool specials and it all was soooo good. Even the waiters and staff was sweet to the eyes. Whoever is doing the hiring keep up the good work. :)
We have been watching alot of TV as of late, so much so that I am thinking about starting a new blog about television shows. I don't know if I can do 4 blogs though. I already have http://mrmoviebuff.blogspot.com and http://superheromarket.blogspot.com and that seems to be enough but they are coming out with some killer stuff.
Tonight is the return of Prison Break followed by Vanished. I'll be there for sure. But I'll be taping Kyle XY and Treasure Hunters which are both great shows.
T.H. is ending tonight and if those damn Geninues win I'll have a hissy fit! I just hope and pray that the Air Force win cause they deserve it.
I mowed the lawn again and I still haven't lost any weight. Damn I thought mowing the lawn every 2 weeks would melt this fat off me, guess I'll have to actually get off my fat ass and go back to exercising again. :)
Well that should do it for now. If any other thoughts pop into my mind I'll let you know.
Oh by the way if anyone sees my friend Leela please tell her to call me already as my trip back to Miami is only 2 weeks away and I still have no idea where I'm going or where I'm staying.
WOOO!!!!! 20 plus 10 girl. Here we come!

Saturday, August 05, 2006

the end of the world is near...


I was reading about how many cities are making it illegal to feed the homeless.
You read that right. Many cities are putting into law that if you feed the homeless you will be arrested.
Let me explain.
If you feed homeless in a park in Las Vegas you can be arrested. This is due to the fact that the city does not want their homeless taking over the parks and scaring off their citizens.
Now most cities have put restrictions on this but Las Vegas has put this ordinance into law.
Feeding the homeless is illegal?
I don't care if the citizens feel uncomfortable around the homeless. I was homeless twice in my life and believe me there are homeless out there that don't want to be.
I understand that these cities want their homeless to go to shelters and they even want to take their signs away that read "Will work for food" as being false advertising, but let me tell you first hand...These companies are just that COMPANIES!
They didn't help me and my family when I was there and they do very little to help those still there.
We went to all the major charities and none of them would help.
And now here in the West coast they have this Red Tide where something in the water is killing all the fish and leaving their dead bodies littered on the beach. The ladies I work with are talking at work about them feeling sick and how every time the Red Tide comes they fall sick.
Is it just me or isn't there some cause for concern?
Have these people dealt with this Red Tide for so long that it's become second place?
The first time Jimmy told me about this I wanted to go get pictures of it. I wanted to prove this really existed.
Silly me! I really thought it was something to be concerned for.
I mean it's not like there are people getting sick or anything thing like end of the world stuff going on...right?
Everything has its place in this crazy world but one thing that should never happen is people taking something as common place.
Don't just sit back and let people tell you not to feed the homeless or sit around getting sick off some freaky tide thing.
Life is so precious... spend it wisely. :)

Tuesday, August 01, 2006

the day my jeep lost a tire

Like all good stories, I'll start this one from the beginning.
I wake up everyday at 6 am with my alarm set to a radio station here in Port Charlotte.
First thing I do when I achieve conscienceness is do my morning stretching which consists of pulling and prodding my body into some form of alert status.
Once I accomplish this, I'm ready for my morning snack; better known as breakfast.
This strange meal known as breakfast is usually a bowl of cereal. Yummy Yummy for my Tummy. :)

After shitting and showering and shaving I'm off to work.

This particular morning drive was not unlike any other day.
I drive 50 miles to work every day and the gas is draining my account as fast as it's draining the tank.

My mom took my jeep in just last week and the mechanic told her to have the back tire changed as soon as she can.
So on my ride to work the jeep starts to shake, rattle and roll along I75.
Right before mile marker 190 the impossible happens, that very same tire that the mechanic told my mom about decides to blow. And when I say blow I mean POP! BAM! BOOM!
All of a sudden I'm going form the left lane going 70 plus to stopped on the emergency lane.
Stopped isn't quite the word for it cause I decide to scoot and shimmy down to the call box to call for help.

HELP!

well I finally get to the damn box and I am so relieved. I will have one of those wonderful Road Rangers along at anytime to help scrape me off the road.

Flash forward four hours and there I am still waiting.

I tried the box several times with no luck at all.
A cop stopped by to help out and even called in to the station to send help.
"Don't worry the Road Rangers come by every 15 minutes" says the cop with a straight face.
Fool me once shame on you, fool me twice and I'm hunting you down f_cker!

I changed my cell number a couple of weeks ago because my mom had to call long distance just to reach me on the damn thing.
I had that road side service insurance that I've been paying on since I got the freaking phone like 2 years ago.
Well it seems like when they switched my cell number to this side of the coast they also knocked out my road side service.
Nice huh?
Well it gets alot better.
The roadside insurance people (RSIP) tell me that I don't have the insurance on my cell and that I should reach the customer service people (CSP). So I call over to the CSP to find out what happened. They tell me that it was an over sight and that they will back date the service to show that I had it all along. They then tell me to call the RSIP and tell them to call me a tow truck...all is well. I call over to the RSIP and they tell me to call the CSP and tell them to call them.

(I shit you people not this really happened.)

I call the CSP and tell them that the RSIP won't honor their WORD and that they need to call them to settle it. The CSP tell me not to worry and that after they
call over there that all will be well.

Fool me once... you know the rest.

The CSP call me back and tell me that they are sorry and that I'll have to wait 72 hours until I can use the service. The service that they cancelled on me by accident; that I payed like 2 years for and never used.

So here we are 4 hours later. Still waiting for a Road Ranger to at least drive by.
And you know what, I only saw ONE!!!

Well what should I do at this point? My jack BTW doesn't work. It's the jack that came with the jeep but its a toy jack. Totally useless.

I decide to get desperate and call the cell people again.
I get the RSIP back on and they tell me to get the CSP to pay for the service.
So WTF I might as well try.
I call and ask for a supervisor and tell her the whole story.
After a few moments, she calls be back and tells me that they will pay 50 dollars towards a tire fix.

Am I dreaming? Is it heat exhaustion?

What ever it is I am so out of here.

I call the RSIP tell them to hook me up and after just 20 minutes my knight in shining armor comes driving up.

David from Roman's road service was an angel in disguise. If not for him I would still be there waiting for a Road Ranger!

He swooped in fixed my flat and drove off.

Wow I was back on the road. Driving on the interstate. Heading back home first to drop off the car then off to work to finish the last part of the day.

That was up until my "doughnut" tire popped as well.

Doughnut tire is the spare tire for those not in the know.

Well at least I got from mile marker 190 the mile marker 190.2! :)

First thing I do is call my angel back.
"David help you'll never believe this. The spare just blew out. HELP!"

David had to travel like 10 miles just to turn around and meet up with me, so he asks if I can make it to the exit; which I say is fine.
I would say yes to being waxed full frontal if I can get back on the road.

So there I am scooting and shimming down the emergency lane to the exit just moments away from me.

Sounds familiar you say... tell me about it.

After creeping along, I finally get to David. He looks so beautiful. Waiting for me at the end of my long journey.

The first thing I notice is the look on his face.
With a smile he tells me " I've got good news and I've got bad news."
Bad news is your Doughnut is crumbled into tiny weeny little pieces.
Good news I'm heading into Sarasota and I can take you to buy a tire.

Take a guess on what I did next.

In Sarasota we show up to the Good year place and I try to get a new tire for my blown out tire. There was definitely a problem with this tire, but nothing I can do without a receipt or a warranty.

In the meantime I'm calling my old buddy Dean from Miami to help me remember where I bought these tires and other info. He was with me when I made my original purchase.

One hundred and eighteen dollars later, me and David are back on the road.

Wee I'm having the time of my life with this guy. We're talking like we have known each other for years. He's telling me about his friend Jeff who just the night before got totally trashed and busted his company rental apartment's window.
Yikes is his boss pissed!
He listens to my story and seems really interested and I listen to his stories about his high school days and such and they are interesting.
Could this be a future friend? Or something better?
All I know is I remember him very vividly and I would love to see him again.

After seven hours of fighting with this damn day, we finally get the tire on the jeep and I say my farewell to my sweet angel.